Run, WW, Run 10

Welcome back for yet another installment of Run, WW, Run my virtual cross country trek inspiring me to get fit. When last we met I crossed into Pennsylvania and was finally getting some miles logged. Vacation can have that effect.rwwr10

This week’s progress would all be made on foot and be tracked by fitbit (when I remembered to wear it).

Friday was a tough day. It was supposed to be a morning of golf but was rained out. I managed to go watch some curling (which was great) but my movement was limited. My virtual self ended near a fireworks store which was fitting as just a few days earlier we watched the 4th fireworks in Falmouth.

Saturday was decent movement, not as exercise specifically but overall we were busy having fun. Walking along the beach and a nice walk while we waited for dinner. It was a nice relaxing last full day of vacation. My virtual self saw the long day and ended at motel so I could get some rest. (More on the rest needed another day).

Sunday was travel day. We cleaned up and then spent a while packing and unpacking plus the time in the car. A workout was not in the cards as it was a long day. I would love to say good to be home but Cape Cod is great and I would rather still be there. Virtual me ends in the middle of nowhere which is fitting because the drive view is what I saw that day.

As I returned to work the distance drops. Monday was a catch-up day after 2 weeks off. Locked mostly in my office and conference rooms and quite honestly exhausted from working a full day left minimal movement at night. I end up near a quarry. The only link to this is a bit of exercise I id get over the weekend throwing a javelin ball with my son. He is training for his track team and I went out tossing this heavy ball with him. It was not easy but it was fun.

Sad to report I followed up with a missing fitbit day so I made almost no progress. The day itself was kind of an average work day. This is where I should have recovered with a workout but I didn’t.

Finally back to some real exercise, by way of my weekly soccer game. I got some real movement ending the day near the Shohola falls. A beautiful image makes we want to get out there and see some beautiful sites in person. Time to dust off the mountain bike again.

The final day ended again in the middle of a long road with not much to see. I had set no goal so I didn’t feel all that motivated to get out. The overall distance for the week was weak with only one real workout. There were some very active days but you can’t have a full week where only once do you move on purpose.

And so I must set a real goal. As luck would have it my town’s Little League team keeps winning and I noticed that Williamsport was on my virtual map. It is too far to get to in a week but using my average distance I can make it there with a week to spare before the tournament. My goal is to beat that. Williamsport in 3 weeks gives me a goal of 5.8 mi per day. If I can avoid the <2 mi days and get on the bike a bit I should have no issue. The point of this is to get me moving not track my lousy stats. Let’s hope the local team gets there for real.

Run, WW, Run

 

Leave a comment