Run, WW, Run 9

Welcome back for yet another installment of Run, WW, Run my virtual cross country trek inspiring me to get fit. When last we met I was struggling to get moving with my virtual in a rural area of NY state. I am happy to report that this entry logging the second week of my vacation took a turn for the better. I am a bit late on the update but I am back at work today so that should become more consistent again. Ok.. here we go.

rwwr9

The week starts with a light day ending at yet another random residential spot. The messy brush reminds me of the yard work I had to do to start my vacation. The miles there were logged in the last update but it is a firm reminder that movement can come from more than just planned workouts. I need to keep that in mind.

Day 2 is a much longer stretch thanks to some golfing. I am amazed how much you walk even when you take a cart. It was a tough day as I really missed my Dad but fun overall. Virtually I ended nowhere significant but I did pass a water park. We didn’t get that in during our vacation but we did discuss it on the ride home yesterday. We will plan a day at Water Wizz the next time down the Cape. This also reminds me that I need to track my “I need to do this” better. I have a few others from previous weeks I still owe.

Next I find myself after a quiet day of movement at a home. I notice the boat in the background. Although I didn’t specifically ride a boat my sons and I had a great time fishing at the Marina in a spot I went to all the time when I was a kid. It was one of those moments that I hope the boys will remember for a long time.

At this point I finally start to log some mileage on the bike. Falmouth is an amazing town to take an early morning ride. This first one was later in the day and actually came from me needing to blow off some steam. I ended the day at a car dealership. As chance would have it there was a lot of discussion this week about buying my “midlife crisis” car. I have always wanted to buy a 1972 Corvette Stingray. My wife is on board and I have started to do some searching. My big issue is I have a small garage and driveway and no great place to store it. We’ll see but it sure would be fun.

Finally we get to the 4th of July (Happy belated 4th to all my readers). I celebrated the 4th with a triathalon of sorts.  It started with a morning bike ride with my brother to Woods Hole. One of a couple of rides that were truly the highlights of my trip. Spending a few hours alone with my brother who lives in Colorado just chatting and seeing the sights along the bike paths. As the day progressed getting my steps in scrambling for the BBQ later I took some time to head to the beach. I know tough choice…right? Instead of sitting with my toes in the sand I actually swam the length of the beach and back. It took forever but in the end was about a half mile of swimming. So there it was bike, steps and a swim. It made me feel much better about the feasting and drinking that would come. I ended the day near an airport…I did end up at Logan yesterday helping my brother head home so fitting I suppose.

Wednesday was a more quiet day. My virtual self ended at scenic spot along the river but instead I added the Nobska lighthouse from along my Th bike ride. Another long ride with my brother and amazingly having set a 60 mile target for the week I made it. I have now virtually entered into Pennsylvania. The first week in several where I hit my target.

It got me thinking about how I have set my targets. I need to do some analysis of what is realistic. Here I was on vacation with Bike trails and time. As I get home I need to figure out how to target something achievable but not too easy. This needs to be a driver not just a log of where I end up. So for this week I will hold off on setting a new target. I will simply trek West and spend sometime figuring out what is next. The good news is I am moving much more consistently and need to keep up that momentum. Now with restaurant eating halting I can put some more focus back on the food again.

Run, WW, Run

 

Leave a comment