Run, WW, Run Update

Welcome back for yet another installment of Run, WW, Run my virtual cross country trek inspiring me to get fit. When last we met I was working my way across CT struggling with short distance days.  Today acts as a bit of a catch up. I am overdue for 2 updates but will keep this one short for a few reasons. During the 2 weeks I was gone I got some workouts in but have struggled to get myself moving. I hope today’s entry will help get me back on track because I assure you I am using the term WW very loosely right now.

rwwr78

 

My hope in this leg was to make it to the Hudson River, in a week and I fell short of that in the two. I also wanted to try to get 10k steps/day but that too was not meant to be. Let’s see what I did get done.

The first week was leading up to my 2 week vacation. There were many nights of playoff youth baseball and other excuses. I was reasonably OK with it since once I got to Cape Cod I would be biking like crazy. Today is day 8 down here and I still haven’t been out.

Along my path I passed a Camp for boys which seems fitting since I do have my boys away fro a 2 week vacation filled with water activity, sports in the yard and wandering around town.  As I mapped my progress through rural CT I passed many golf courses which I did manage to get a round in. I would be finishing up my second 18 right now but I passed because the first trip around the links was a bit too hard on the knee. fun though.

I did finally manage to get to Bull’s bridge and into New York. The road is laced with many farms. We had planned to go to a local farm here to buy a pepper so my son could try one of the hottest peppers in the world. The local place was almost never open and would not have fresh peppers to purchase until later in the fall. For now you could only buy sauces and hot candies. Instead we ordered some Scotch Bonnet dried peppers online and last night each burned our mouths pretty well even only sampling. we will not be going for the full pepper. It was fun though.

I ended the weeks with just a couple of decent numbers logged. A soccer game, a day of gardening. Overall, I was surprised how little I moved in week one of my vacation. I need to fix that because the eating has been terrible. Actually it has been wonderful eating at some amazing restaurants with my brothers and their families in town but as a WW it has been off the rails.

And so I type once again picking myself up. I will try to lower the intake but with the 4th tomorrow that will be a tough way to restart. I will, however, use this entry to re-motivate the movement and see if I can’t log some real miles while I am here.

Run, WW, Run

Leave a comment