Run, WW, Run 11

Welcome back for yet another installment of Run, WW, Run my virtual cross country trek inspiring me to get fit. When last we met I was heading towards Williamsport, the local Little League team was winning and I was trying to be more consistent.

rwwr11

This week was another “Fitbit only” week. Day 1 was exactly what I was trying to avoid…a <2 mile day. Quiet day at work at dinner out with the kids. It was a nice night but we had a big day planned on Saturday so I was ok with my decision not to do too much. My virtual self continued on the same rod only passing a gun shop. That was fitting base don our Saturday plans.

An earlier installment of Run, WW, Run I said I would use the gun shop I passed (Strange how many of those I have seen along the way) as inspiration to take the boys to play paintball. That was Saturday a long day of trekking through woooded terrain and getting shot in the face in “Apocalypse City” (see the picture. It was a great day with lots of movement.  Virtual me ended at a random spot where I could see a great path to take my mountain bike. I need to get that into my routine but can’t seem to make it happen.

I’m lucky I moved at all on Sunday as we were all exhausted. The only movement was really to clean the house since my wife was returning from her girl’s weekend. I finish the day near a quirky little tavern, probably the only place to go in that small town. The menu for this place was simple but it looked like an interesting place with music and lots of people. (Lots for the rural location). This made me think about simplifying my menu and eating out a little less. Time for another trip to get some of my food.

The next leg was another of my No fit bit legs. I had it but had forgotten to charge it. I stagger a quarter of a mile form the tavern to an interesting little glass shop. My inspiration here is to get my creative juices flowing again. I have not used this blog in a while other than my Run, WW, Run updates. It was a creative outlet for me and I do find when I don’t do this, or some other creative thing I feel in a rut….and here I am.

My actual movement for that day was not a lot. I am realizing more and more that my recovery from active days is brutal. I have actually started to take some action here. I started doing some of my physical therapy exercises again to get my legs stretched out.

Back on the move (kind of) with another light day. The only thing near virtual me is a sporting good store….it is actually just a gun shop when you look closer. I think my shooting on Saturday was enough to capture two gun shops of inspiration. The welts still evident all over my body and the big one on my face remind me.

I finally do some real moving again on Wednesday with my soccer game. It was nasty hot but a great workout and a fun game. Where I end on the map is not what was interesting. What was interesting was the difference in the routes. The directions guided me south through the mountains with beautiful landscapes but not much around. A single house from time to time. Had I picked the northern route it would have brought me to a gated community complete with golf course, beautiful homes and an amazing lake. Split down the middle was the interstate…quick but boring. The philosophical side of me started thinking about choices. I need to make the real choice to be ready for my outdoor soccer season just 37 days away. That is plenty of time to get to a reasonable fitness level.

The choice needs to be to do it in a smarter way. I am tripping over workouts instead of planning them. This week I will plan them here. Tonight nothing..We are off to see Beauty and the Beast at the local playhouse. Tomorrow I will get on my bike. Sunday I already have a tee time to play golf.  I feel like Monday night I have something I am forgetting so I will plan an off day.  Tuesday 10k steps however I can manage. Wed soccer and Th will be another day off. Reading that doesn’t sound so scary.

I end the week with another lesson. I come into a little town that doesn’t look like much. Hidden in a little line of woods are the waterfalls shown. You would never know they were there if you didn’t stop to look. So friends, stop to look once in a while.

If I recap the week I got 2 real workouts in. That is not enough. I want to have 4 and accept 3.  I have a plan. I am still headed to Williamsport but off pace. The Melrose Little League team finally took a loss last night but if they win tonight they play Saturday for the Sectional title. The family will attend if they get there.

Run, WW, Run

Leave a comment