Run, WW, Run 6

Welcome back for yet another installment of Run, WW, Run my virtual cross country trek inspiring me to get fit. When last we met I was working my way across CT. I had fallen short of ESPN with a over optimistic hope that I would catch up to that goal and still manage to make it to NY state this week.

rwwr6

The week started off well hitting my daily step target landed me at an insurance company. Since my insurance is all in order I quickly bypass that so I can lose weight for the next time I need to renew. Somehow on a Saturday I managed to put in just over a mile total. That landed me in an industrial area which made me think of work.  I realized that my biggest issue is that I can have days where I barely move, usually when I am at work. It is something I will start working on this week. (Hopefully hitting my step goal daily).

Sunday thanks to my over-the-hill-league soccer game I managed to finally arrive at ESPN. That was one sport in the books for the week. I was still hoping to get many more. I finished the day in front of a shooting range. I have always wanted to try shooting but I opted to twist that a bit and began planning a paintball excursion for me and my boys (That will be 3 weeks out but I did find the place and start gathering a larger group.

As I maneuvered my way through Bristol, I stopped in front of a church. Although I was a long time Catholic school boy I’m not one to attend services any more. Usually weddings and funerals. That made me think of my dad and I did have some catching up to do this week on the estate planning so I used that inspiration to do just that. His house officially went on the market this week and I am not handling it well.

My next stop was in the middle of a construction zone. As luck would have it I found myself in construction on that day. I was slipping off plan and desperately trying to regain my composure before I went off the rails. I decided to get out there and try some more sports (my weekly goal) so my son and I played tennis that day. I am happy to announce that the construction sign made me think enough to reign it back in and I am once again on plan. Coincidentally I passed a Polish deli the same day we had Kielbasa for dinner (that’s mom’s side of the family).

My next stop would be at the Black Rock State Forest campsite. My wife has talked a lot about trying camping this summer. I used to go every year as a boys weekend where some guys from work and I would all take our sons off the grid. That has fizzled as the kids got older. I posed the question to my wife and she is interested. I started asking around for a close campsite that friends have enjoyed. Stay tuned on this one. (I can’t let myself forget).

Along that path, I passed a baseball training site called the HitZone. My son had a game that night so in my “play sports” theme I decided to pitch to him for a while before he left.

My final night it was clear I was WAY short of target. A target I should never have set. ESPN to NY was probably achievable but falling short last week gave me little chance. I need to set better goals. Not wanting to give up I jumped on the mountain bike. I ended up on a path that was way too advanced for my fitness and skill level so I did a fair amount of walking and carrying my bike over rock. It was nice to be out there but it made me remember that you don’t get the mileage in the woods. Anyway cycling is on ESPN sometimes so I count it. My final stop for the week is just past a horse farm. I have long tried to get the family to go horseback riding. I will add it to my to do list for the summer.

That brings me to my final point. This week I did a pretty good job at finding my inspirations from this journey. It is obvious they can’t all be done within the week.  I will do as many as I can during the week but now I will start a list of the longer term items for the summer. (Amusement park, paintball, camping, etc…) If I don’t I feel I will be all talk and that defeats the point. I will update along the way.

Finally, I must set a target for the week. I am one week from vacation where I should be logging tons of miles biking and golfing. The NY border seems short so instead I will try to cross the Hudson river. My sub-goal for the week is to avoid the 1-2 mile days. So this week I will target to actually hit the Fitbit 10,000 daily target every day.

Run, WW, Run

Leave a comment