Not the WW’s fault

FAULT

Don’t find fault, find a remedy. ~Henry Ford

But DAAAAD…It’s not my fault.  As a father I can’t tell you how many times I have heard those words. As a WW I can’t tell you how many times I have thought them. It’s not my fault that someone brought donuts to work. It’s not my fault that I skipped the gym because I had to drive my son to the “insert random event here”.  The inspiration for this very blog came yesterday when it was not my fault I couldn’t go to the gym. I dressed for the gym…I told the family I was going to the gym…I even told the woman at my previous appointment that I was headed to the gym right after. Then she busted my bubble. It must be her fault….sure blame her. I had a laser procedure and was informed not to reheat the area which meant no hot showers and sadly no workouts. For once, it actually wasn’t my fault. I was dejected and that’s what really made me think. Sure I can’t do a full workout but it doesn’t mean sit in the couch eating cookies feeling sorry for myself. Don’t turn a workout into a disaster. That for sure would have been my fault.  So instead I took my son to watch a baseball game and pitched some easy batting practice after. Sure I didn’t hit my step goal or get a real workout in but it was my fault that I found some movement. It was my fault that helped keep me on plan for the rest of the day. It was my fault that I can write this blog after a positive day. It will be my fault when the negative hits too and I’m okay with that. I will accept responsibility for my actions and learn to pivot when life throws rocks at my plans.

Update: My soccer game for tonight just got cancelled. IT will be my fault if I don’t get a workout in anyway.

Leave a comment