The WW and the wrong right thing

“The right thing at a wrong time is a wrong thing.”― Joshua Harris

 

wrong

Life is about choices. I choose to be a weight watcher which brings about more choices. Choices in what we eat, how we move. Choices that either lead us on our desired path or off. It’s simple. Until it isn’t. What if the right path and the wrong path are the same for a while and a seemingly good choice goes bad.

And so I chose. I chose a grilled chicken salad. (No feta, dressing on the side and a pita). I did the math and it added up. I had my fun food of the day at lunch and needed to simplify for dinner. How could an on plan choice to go so simple lead me down the wrong path? The devil was in the details. Lunch was high in points but light on food.  I got the sandwich but skipped the fries or even the chips.  I entered dinner “Stahvin'”. That’s OK a grilled chicken salad was staring at me. That can’t be wrong. I did the math. I made it with my dailies. I inhaled it savoring the fact that I made it in my points.  I recognized the point when hunger had passed but I continued. Remember, I had the points. What I  didn’t have was more for later and that good choice was not the best for sustaining me through the day. I was full but when hunger hit again later I was out of points, out of ideas and eventually out of control.

I found myself wishing I had stopped myself. I could have saved some for later or used the spare points in my real trouble time later in the evening.

I made the right choice in the moment yet it was the wrong choice for the day. I must have points for snacking. It is my trigger time.

I have often fallen into a mode of all or nothing. Why couldn’t the snack have been just a little off plan to get the urge under control? Why had I jumped so far off the bandwagon that it took 2 days to recover?

Was there a better choice of food? Not likely. Was there a better choice on quantity consumed? For sure. Was there a choice to turn right choices into an excuse for wrong actions? Of course.

It’s about choices. I choose to move on. I choose to stand up again. I choose to choose instead of letting it happen. What other choice do I have?

Leave a comment