The Selfish Weight Watcher

“Mine”~ Finding Nemo

Excuse me if I seem a bit rude but it is time for me to be selfish. MINE. It is not always the path I choose but sometimes we must take care of number one. MINE. Before you unfollow or unfriend, let me explain. MINE. As I have gotten back on track I have been paying close attention to the things that give me trouble. After all the theme here is always “What’s different this time?” Often as a weight watcher it can be difficult to adapt to things setup by others. .

  • Dear wife has a large snack cabinet primarily setup for the kids to pack lunches yet it is large, looming and filled with items that would not even be my choices. I end up picking one and not feeling satisfied which then tortures me to try another to see if that does the trick. It is time for me to be selfish and reestablish my own secret snack stash. In a different location so I never even see the other choices.
  • Dear wife decorates the house beautifully changing for each season and event. We are decked out for Halloween which means candy on every free surface. Then I thought about it. There is always candy everywhere. The funny part is that for her it more of a decoration than a quick way to grab a treat. I never see her or the boys dipping in. It is there for me to empty or more recently as I have been doing better to torture me. It is time to be selfish and see if I can get all or most removed.
  • Last night came the first return on this journey of my white whale. A busy family evening filled with sports practices and carpooling around. Dinner would be a challenge so we ordered pizza. I knew it would be a problem but went along for the ride. Now I will never say I will never get a pizza, nor would I say that I would EVER stop the family from enjoying but the selfish WW has a chance to step in here as well. I easily could have ordered something else from the same place. I easily could have picked up the pie and stopped at an alternate spot for my own choice. I could have been selfish for me while allowing the others to enjoy what they wanted. In the end the dinner was fine but the leftovers were killer. A couple extra slices that ate deep into my weekly points. THE WHITE WHALE.
  • The final spot I have noticed comes to the morning schedule. I rise quite early and shower quickly so dear son can rest and have a clear path to get ready. In an effort to make things different and find actual time to workout, since evenings have been loaded up lately, I will try the morning. Your first thought may be that how can I be so selfish to inconvenience my own son for my needs. Here’s the funny part. We added a second shower so now it doesn’t even matter. My brain still thinks the old way and taking care of myself has no effect on anyone else’s schedule anymore.

MINE MINE MINE. It is time to remember that as a WW we sometimes have to make selfish choices. We can, however, make those changes without spoiling anything for anyone else. They are really just minor tweaks from what is already happening. Sure there will be one or two that you need to sit down with someone and make a compromise (My wife loves having candy everywhere.) but the majority can be done invisibly and won’t be seen as selfish at all.

 

Leave a comment